Skip to content

Jasna Essay Contest For House

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 JASNA Essay Contest, an annual event open to high school, college/university, and graduate school students worldwide. Over 200 essays were submitted this year on the topic of adapting a Jane Austen novel for stage or film.

The entries were evaluated in two rounds by 39 hard-working judges, and 9 outstanding essays were selected for scholarship awards. The contest winners are listed below, and their essays are posted in the Publications section of our website under Essay Contest Winning Entries so that you can enjoy their creative efforts. The names of the students whose entries received honorable mention are also posted online.    

High School Division

  • First Place:  Micah D. Long, Pennsylvania AP Homeschoolers Online Classes, Kittanning, PA
  • Second Place:  Sarah C. Richman, Pennsylvania AP Homeschoolers Online Classes, Kittanning, PA
  • Third Place:Kathryn G. Kowalski, E. C. Glass High School, Lynchburg, VA

College/University Division 

  • First Place:  Sarah C. Nodell, Palm Beach Atlantic University, West Palm Beach, FL
  • Second Place:  Mackenzie A. Broderick, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL (Mackenzie is a repeat winner; she won first prize in 2013 in the High School Division.)
  • Third Place:  Julia B. Robben, Ball State University, Muncie, IN

Graduate School Division    

  • First Place:  Elizabeth Gilliland, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA
  • Second Place:  Margaret T. Ferguson, Emerson College, Boston, MA
  • Third Place:  Karin M. Manley, Georgia Tech, Atlanta, GA

First-place winners will receive a $1,000 scholarship and have been invited to attend the 2017 AGM in Huntington Beach, CA, in October. JASNA provides complimentary registration and two free nights in the conference hotel. The second- and third-place winners in each division will receive $500 and $250 scholarships, respectively. In addition, all winners and their mentors will receive a one-year JASNA membership, and each winner will receive a set of Norton Critical Editions of Jane Austen's novels. 

Many thanks to all the participants and judges, and congratulations to the winners for their fine work!

High School Division

Monica Alvarez
Trinity School
New York, NY

Lety Banks

University of California
San Diego, CA

Adrienne Berg

Woods Charter School
Chapel Hill, NC

Caroline Bolt
University of Texas
Dallas, TX

Barbara Burnham

University of Texas
Austin, TX

Courtney O. Carlisle
University of Texas
Dallas, TX

Jessica Connolly

Trinity College
Dublin, Ireland

Marjean Cockran

Enterprise State Community College
Enterprise, AL

Becky Dolin
Graham School
University of Chicago
Chicago, IL

Susan Durst
Boise Public Schools (retired)
Boise, ID

Amy Fugazzi

Northern Kentucky University
Highland Heights, KY

Norah Glickstein
McMaster University
Hamilton, ON

Jean Lewis
Northwestern University
Evanston, IL

Frank McClanahan
Linfield College
McMinnville, OR

Keiko Parker
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC

Deanna Parsi

Sue Scott
Wake County Library
Raleigh, NC

Gina Sipley
Nassau Community College
Garden City, NY

Maria Spray
School for Advanced Research
Santa Fe, NM

Amy Stallings
College of William and Mary
Williamsburg, VA

Alisa Thomas
Toccoa Falls College
Toccoa Falls, GA

Lisa Tyler
Sinclair Community College
Dayton, OH

Karin Wiberg
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA

College/University Division

Elaine Bander
Dawson College (retired)
Montréal, Québec

Pauline Beard

Pacific University (emerita)
Forest Grove, OR

Rosa Beyer

University of Chicago
Chicago, IL

Laura Bloxham

Whitworth University
Spokane, WA

Rachel Brownstein
Graduate Center, City University
of New York, NY

Susan Cotellesse
Northeast Lakeview College
Universal City, TX

Wendy Anne Lee
New York University
New York, NY

Nora Nachumi
Stern College for Women
Yeshiva University
New York, NY

Stephanie Oppenheim
Borough of Manhattan Community
City University of New York
New York, NY

Lisa Tyler
Sinclair Community College
Dayton, OH

Leo Rockas
University of Hartford (Emeritus)
Hartford, CT

Debra Roush

Kathleen Urda
Bronx Community College
City University of New York
New York, NY

Susan Weisgrau

Akiba Hebrew Academy (retired)
Merion Station, PA

Graduate School Division

Deborah Knuth Klenck
Colgate University
Hamilton, NY

Pat Michaelson
University of Dallas
Dallas, TX

Juliette Wells
Goucher College
Baltimore, MD